Now that everyone's nerves are on edge following the break up of a small asteroid over Chelyabinsk, Russia this morning, we now turn our frayed attention to Asteroid 2012 DA14. NASA is scheduled to start its audio commentary at 11:00 AM PST (2:00 PM EST). The live broadcast will integrate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid with the Earth, along with live or near real-time views of DA14 from observatories in Australia.

Advertisement

The asteroid's closest approach to Earth will happen at approximately 11:25 AM PST (2:25 PM EST), and it'll be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth's surface.

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at ustream (above).

Share This Story

Get our newsletter