Vote 2020 graphic
Everything you need to know about and expect during
the most important election of our lifetimes

The Winners Of The 2015 Locus Awards Have Been Announced!

Illustration for article titled The Winners Of The 2015 Locus Awards Have Been Announced!

The speculative fiction award season is underway, and results of one of the major awards, the Locus, has been announced at this weekend’s Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle, Washington. After this year’s uproar over the Hugo Awards, it’s great to see a mix of excellent books get their due reward.


At the top of the list was Ancillary Sword for Science Fiction novel, The Goblin Emperor for Fantasy Novel, Half A King for YA novel and The Memory Garden for Debut Novel.


Here’s the full list of winners and finalists:


  • Winner: Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie
  • The Peripheral, William Gibson
  • The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu
  • Lock In, John Scalzi
  • Annihilation/Authority/Acceptance, Jeff VanderMeer


  • Winner: The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison
  • Steles of the Sky, Elizabeth Bear
  • City of Stairs, Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Magician’s Land, Lev Grossman
  • The Mirror Empire, Kameron Hurley


  • Winner: Half a King, Joe Abercrombie
  • The Doubt Factory, Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Waistcoats & Weaponry, Gail Carriger
  • Empress of the Sun, Ian McDonald
  • Clariel, Garth Nix (Harper; Hot Key; Allen & Unwin)


  • Winner: The Memory Garden, Mary Rickert
  • Elysium, Jennifer Marie Brissett
  • A Darkling Sea, James L. Cambias
  • The Clockwork Dagger, Beth Cato
  • The Emperor’s Blades, Brian Staveley


  • Winner: Yesterday’s Kin, Nancy Kress
  • “The Man Who Sold the Moon,” Cory Doctorow
  • We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory
  • “The Regular,” Ken Liu
  • “The Lightning Tree,” Patrick Rothfuss


  • Winner: “Tough Times All Over,” Joe Abercrombie
  • “The Hand Is Quicker,” Elizabeth Bear
  • “Memorials,” Aliette de Bodard
  • “The Jar of Water,” Ursula K. Le Guin
  • “A Year and a Day in Old Theradane,” Scott Lynch


  • Winner: “The Truth About Owls,” Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Covenant,” Elizabeth Bear
  • “The Dust Queen,” Aliette de Bodard
  • “In Babelsberg,” Alastair Reynolds
  • “Ogres of East Africa,” Sofia Samatar


  • Winner: Rogues, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, ed.
  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirty-first Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed.
  • Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History, Rose Fox & Daniel José Older, eds.
  • Reach for Infinity, Jonathan Strahan, ed.
  • The Time Traveler’s Almanac, Ann VanderMeer & Jeff VanderMeer, eds.


  • Winner: Last Plane to Heaven, Jay Lake (
  • Questionable Practices, Eileen Gunn (Small Beer)
  • The Collected Short Fiction Volume One: The Man Who Made Models, R.A. Lafferty
  • Academic Exercises, K.J. Parker
  • The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume Nine: The Millennium Express, Robert Silverberg


  • Winner:
  • Asimov’s
  • Clarkesworld
  • F&SF
  • Lightspeed


  • Winner: Tor
  • Angry Robot
  • Orbit
  • Small Beer
  • Subterranean


  • Winner: Ellen Datlow
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Ann & Jeff VanderMeer


  • Winner: John Picacio
  • Jim Burns
  • Shaun Tan
  • Charles Vess
  • Michael Whelan


  • Winner: What Makes This Book So Great, Jo Walton
  • Ray Bradbury Unbound, Jonathan Eller
  • Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison!, Harry Harrison
  • The Secret History of Wonder Woman, Jill Lepore
  • Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 2: The Man Who Learned Better: 1948-1988, William H. Patterson, Jr.


  • Winner: Spectrum 21: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, John Fleskes, ed.
  • Jim Burns, The Art of Jim Burns: Hyperluminal
  • The Art of Neil Gaiman, Hayley Campbell
  • Brian & Wendy Froud, Brian Froud’s Faeries’ Tales
  • The Art of Space: The History of Space Art, from the Earliest Visions to the Graphics of the Modern Era, Ron Miller


Share This Story

Get our newsletter



In some ways, all the Sad Puppies fiasco has done is made the Locus and the Nebula awards more important—for more casual SF/Fantasy readers like myself, I’ll simply use those two awards as indicative of a possibly interesting book. The Hugo, on the other hand, is now a more questionable metric and possibly less valuable now that there’s been an attempt to gain the system.

Anyway, glad to see Ellen Datlow appreciated—I’m not big on horror, but some of the most fascinating and wonderful short stories I’ve read have been in the fantasy horror genre and selected by Datlow.