Illustration for article titled The iGuardians of the Galaxy/i Cartoon Is Getting Its Very Own Awesome Mix

In a lot of ways, the Guardians of the Galaxy animated series feels like it’s gearing up to be a retread of the film’s greatest hits—right down to the show’s licensed soundtrack. Out of the way, Awesome Mix: There’s a new OST in town, and it’s gunning for your ridiculous success.


Just as the Awesome Mix Volume One that came before it, the show will have its own licensed soundtrack of ‘70s hits in the form of the Cosmic Mix Volume One. The soundtrack will feature in the series itself (if Peter Quill got the first two volumes of the Awesome Mix from his mom, where did this tape come from?), and will of course be available to purchase physically and digitally from October 16th, because Disney and Marvel would really, really like you to make this one as successful as the Awesome Mix was. Here’s the full tracklist:

1. “Hooked On a Feeling” – Blue Swede
2. “Funk No. 49” – The James Gang
3. “Drift Away” – Dobie Gray
4. “Walk Away” – The James Gang
5. “Boys Are Back in Town” – Thin Lizzy
6. “Shake Your Groove Thing” – Peaches and Herb
7. “Funk Funk” – Cameo
8. “Joy to the World” – Three Dog Night
9. “I Will Survive” – Gloria Gaynor
10. “Rocky Mountain Way” – Joe Walsh
11. “So You Are a Star” – Hudson Brothers
12. “Don’t Stop Me Now” – Queen


There’s some pretty good stuff on there! Honestly, my biggest complaint is the lack of Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, a highlight of the original Awesome Mix. What, if Blue Swede can make a return, Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell can’t? A crime. A crime, I say!

There is, naturally, already a YouTube playlist of all the songs on the Cosmic Mix, so if you don’t feel like waiting until October for your fix of classic tunes, you can check it out below, and just imagine the cartoon playing out in your head.

[Via Marvel]

Share This Story

Get our newsletter