Image: The Obelisk Gate cover art, courtesy of Orbit Books.

The most prestigious awards in science fiction had their 2017 ceremony today, at WorldCon 75 in Helsinki, Finlandā€”and just like last year, female creatives have swept some of the biggest awards of the event.

This yearā€™s slate of nominees, unlike the drama surrounding the 2016 and 2015 Hugos, was less impacted by the ballot-stuffing tactics of the ā€œRabid Puppiesā€, thanks to a change in the way nominees were voted for this year (including the fact no work could appear in more than one category) in an attempt to avoid tactical slate picks. In prior years the awards saw conservative writer Theodore ā€˜Vox Dayā€™ Beale turn out his supporters in an attempt to tactically vote for a slate of nominees out forward by Beale himself.


However, just as they did last year, female creators have dominated the awards, with women taking home awards in the major categoriesā€”including N. K. Jemisin, who became the first woman to win the Hugo for Best Novel twice in a row since Lois McMaster Bujold did in 1991 and 1992. Not even the Hugos themselves could escape award-mania, either, with representatives from the Guinness World Records committee on hand to enshrine the Hugos as the longest-running scifi and fantasy awards show at the ceremony, too. Hereā€™s the full list of winners from this year:

Best Novel

The Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin (Orbit Books)

Best Novella

Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire ( publishing)

Best Novelette

ā€œThe Tomato Thiefā€, by Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine, January 2016)

Best Short Story

ā€œSeasons of Glass and Ironā€, by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, Saga Press)


Best Related Work

Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, by Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)

Best Graphic Story

Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image)


Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

Arrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve (21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

The Expanse: ā€œLeviathan Wakesā€, written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough (SyFy)


Best Editor ā€“ Short Form

Ellen Datlow

Best Editor ā€“ Long Form

Liz Gorinsky

Best Professional Artist

Julie Dillon

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, and podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky


Best Fanzine

Lady Business, edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan

Best Fancast

Tea and Jeopardy, presented by Emma Newman with Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer

Abigail Nussbaum

Best Fan Artist

Elizabeth Leggett

Best Series

The Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Ada Palmer (1st year of eligibility)

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!