Take a listen to the track "Worms" by Youth Lagoon, which uses sounds from the rings of Uranus recorded by NASA's Voyager 1 and Voyager 2. This is but one song from The Space Project album, which mixes music with the real sounds of our solar system's celestial bodies.

Brought to you by Lefse Records, the album features 14 different artists all using the sounds of space to make beautiful music. We're used to seeing visual images from our solar system, but The Space Project does something different, using the recordings of electromagnetic radiation fluctuations of the planets and moons taken by the Voyager spacecrafts to inspire its artists. The result is an unearthly mix of terrestrial music and celestial noise.


Space Project is available right now on vinyl, CD, and as a 7″ box set.

Here's the full track list:


A Porcelain Raft: "Giove"
B The Antlers: "Jupiter"

A Mutual Benefit: "Terraform"
B Anna Meredith: "Miranda"

A The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program: "Always Together With You (The Bridge Song)"
B The Holydrug Couple: "Amphitrites Lost"


A Youth Lagoon: "Worms"
B Blues Control: "Blues Danube"

A Beach House: "Saturn Song"
B Zomes: "Moonlet"

A Absolutely Free: "EARTH I"
B Jesu: "Song of Earth"

A Benoit & Sergio: "Long Neglected Words"
B Larry Gus: "Sphere of Io (For Georg Cantor)"


[via Pitchfork and NPR]

Share This Story

Get our newsletter