Here Are the Finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Illustration for article titled Here Are the Finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Each year, the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction awards one worthy science fiction novel the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, one of the genre’s major awards for novels.


The finalist list this year is particularly strong, with some truly excellent novels represented:

  • The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi (Orbit/Knopf)
  • Europe at Midnight, Dave Hutchinson (Rebellion)
  • Radiomen, Eleanor Lerman (The Permanent)
  • Luna: New Moon, Ian McDonald (Gollancz/Tor)
  • Galapagos Regained, James Morrow (St. Martin’s)
  • Going Dark, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island/Saga)
  • The Book of Phoenix, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW)
  • Where, Kit Reed (Tor)
  • The Thing Itself, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • Aurora, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Seveneves, Neal Stephenson (William Morrow/Harper Collins)\

This year’s recipient will be announced on Thursday, August 18th at the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, MidAmericon II, which will be held in Kansas City, Missouri on August 17th through the 21st.



Andrew Liptak is the former Weekend editor of io9/Gizmodo. He is the co-editor of War Stories: New Military Science Fiction and hails from Vermont.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter



This is a much stronger list than the Hugos! The only book in common is “Seveneves”, and it was sadly on the Puppies Hugo list as well. The nominees come from experts in the field - Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek - and this year they’ve done better than the fans, at least in my opinion.