Two of the field's most respected authors will receive recognition for the ways in which they transformed science fiction. Samuel R. Delany and Harlan Ellison will receive, respectively, the 2010 and 2011 Eaton Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Science Fiction from the University of California, Riverside. Ellison will accept his award at the 2011 Eaton Science Fiction Conference in February. Says conference organizer and associate English professor Rob Latham:

As the first major African-American science fiction writer, Delany enlarged the borders of the field during the 1960s and 1970s, with challenging and visionary novels such as ‘The Einstein Intersection' and ‘Dhalgren.' During the same period, Ellison's brilliant short fiction, including such classics as ‘Repent, Harlequin! Said the Ticktockman' and ‘The Deathbird,' brought an unparalleled energy and ambitious literary sensibility to the genre.



Share This Story

Get our newsletter