Final Nebula Awards Ballot Announced!

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers Of America just announced the Nebula Awards finalists, and there are a couple of surprising omissions.

I'm kind of surprised Neal Stephenson didn't get a nod in the novel category, not to mention Iain Banks' Matter. But I'm thrilled for Kelley Eskridge getting nominated in the novella category. Also, the more I ponder, the more surprised I am that Hunger Games didn't make it in the young-adult category.



Little Brother - Cory Doctorow (Tor, Apr08)
Powers - Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, Sep07)
Cauldron - Jack McDevitt (Ace, Nov07)
Brasyl - Ian McDonald (Pyr, May07)
Making Money - Terry Pratchett (Harper, Sep07)
Superpowers - David J. Schwartz (Three Rivers Press, Jun08)


"The Spacetime Pool" - Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar08)
"Dark Heaven" - Gregory Benford (Alien Crimes, Resnick, Mike, Ed., SFBC, Jan07)
"Dangerous Space" - Kelley Eskridge (Dangerous Space, Aqueduct Press, Jun07)
"The Political Prisoner" - Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF, Aug08)
"The Duke in His Castle" - Vera Nazarian (Norilana Books, Jun08)



"If Angels Fight" - Richard Bowes (F&SF, Feb08)
"Dark Rooms" - Lisa Goldstein (Asimov's, Oct/Nov 07)
"Pride and Prometheus" - John Kessel (F&SF, Jan08)
"Night Wind" - Mary Rosenblum (Lace and Blade, ed. Deborah J. Ross, Norilana Books, Feb08)
"Baby Doll" - Johanna Sinisalo (The SFWA European Hall of Fame, James Morrow & Kathryn Morrow, Ed., Tor, Jun07 )
"Kaleidoscope" - K.D. Wentworth (F&SF, May07)


Short Stories

"The Button Bin" - Mike Allen (Helix: A Speculative Fiction Quarterly, Oct07)
"The Dreaming Wind" - Jeffrey Ford (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, Ed., Viking, Jul07)
"Trophy Wives" - Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, Daw Jan08)
"26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss" - Kij Johnson (Asimov's, Jul08)
"The Tomb Wife" - Gwyneth Jones (F&SF, Aug07)
"Don't Stop" - James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's, Jun07)



The Dark Knight - Jonathan Nolan; Christopher Nolan, Christopher, David S. Goyer (Warner Bros., Jul08)
"WALL-E" Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)
"The Shrine" - Brad Wright (Stargate Atlantis, Aug08)


Andre Norton Award For Young Adult Fiction

Graceling - Kristin Cashore (Harcourt, Oct08)
Lamplighter - D.M. Cornish (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 2, Putnam Juvenile, May08))
Savvy - Ingrid Law (Dial, May08)
The Adoration of Jenna Fox - Mary E. Pearson (Henry Holt and Company, Apr08)
Flora's Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) - Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, Sep08)


[SF Awards Watch]

Share This Story

Get our newsletter