Disney's A Wrinkle in Time Soundtrack Is a Powerhouse of Femme

Image: Disney via YouTube
Image: Disney via YouTube

A Wrinkle in Time director Ava DuVernay has unveiled the new songs for her upcoming Disney film, which sees groundbreaking female artists like Sia and, yes, the glorious Sade taking center stage right alongside main character Meg Murry.

DuVernay has released previews of some of the original songs created for the film, which all help tell the story of Meg (Storm Reid) as she travels throughout the universe in search of her father (Chris Pine). Chloe x Halle has “Warrior,” Sia created “Magic,” and there’s “Let Me Live” from Oakland artist Kehlani, which DuVernay said is the first song heard in the film.


However, perhaps most exciting is the return of Sade, who created an original song called “Flowers In The Universe.” It’s the performer’s first new song in almost eight years. DuVernay said of her participation:

I never thought she’d say yes, but asked anyway. She was kind + giving. A goddess. We began a journey together that I’ll never forget. Proud to announce that Sade has created an original song for WRINKLE IN TIME. It’s entitled “Flower of the Universe.” And it’s a dream come true.

In addition to the six original songs for the film, Game of Thrones and Westworld composer Ramin Djawadi is composing the score. Here’s a full list of the original songs.

  • “Flower of the Universe” – Sade (plus a No I.D. Remix version)
  • “I Believe” – DJ Khaled feat. Demi Lovato
  • “Magic” – Sia
  • “Let Me Live” – Kehlani
  • “Warrior” – Chloe x Halle
  • “Park Bench People” – FreeStyle Fellowship

 A Wrinkle in Time comes out March 9.


Video Editor and Staff Writer at io9. My doppelganger is that rebelling greeting card from Futurama.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter


Angrier Geek

Damnit! I’m still digesting the Black Panther soundtrack. Give a brutha a moment to breathe! Best song: All the Stars. Second Best: The Ways.