The winners of the 2012 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award and John W. Campbell Memorial Award have been announced, honoring some of the past year's best works of short science fiction and science fiction novels, respectively.

Three honorees for each award are selected each year by a committee of judges. This year's committee for the Sturgeon Award included James Gunn of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction, Kij Johnson, Frederik Pohl, George Zebrowski, and Noel Sturgeon. The Campbell Award jury consists of Gregory Benford, Paul Di Filippo, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and T.A. Shippey.


Paul McAuley took home the first place Sturgeon Award for his story, "The Choice." Our own Charlie Jane Anders received second place for her "Six Months Three Days." (If you haven't read it yet, definitely do; it's a fascinating exploration of clairvoyance, free will, and the tricky nature of memory, especially when it comes to romantic relationships.) And Ken Liu's sweetly sad "The Paper Menagerie" took third place.

As for the novels, Christopher Priest's The Islanders and Joan Slonczewski's The Highest Frontier tied for first place in the Campbell Awards, with China Miéville's Embassytown awarded third place. Lavie Tidhar's novel Osama received an honorable mention.

Congrats again to all the winners and honorees!

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award and The John W. Campbell Memorial Award [Center for the Study of Science Fiction]