Comics' Oscars Recognize Superheroes, Hellboys And Deja Vu

Illustration for article titled Comics' Oscars Recognize Superheroes, Hellboys And Deja Vu

The 21st Annual Eisner Awards - the comic industry's version of the Oscars - took place last night, with winners including old favorites, new faces, the unexpected and the big names of the mainstream. Here's what you missed.


Despite the show's new home in the Indigo Ballroom of the Hilton San Diego Bayfront — right next door to the San Diego Convention Center, meaning a short walk for those attending SDCC — there was a sense of familiarity to this year's ceremony, from the hosts and presenters (Bill Morrison, Jane Wiedlin and Reno 911's Tom Lennon and Ben Garant all returned from last year) to some of the winners (James Jean and Dave Stewart must be getting bored of winning by now, surely). Thankfully, this year's ceremony was devoid of last year's sponsor-friendly celebrity moments, however, and several lost categories brought the evening in at a shorter time than last year's epic event (Although the ceremony still clocked in at three hours).

Surprises of the night included superhero books sweeping Best Continuing Series and Best New Series (with Matt Fraction, collecting Invincible Iron Man's award for the latter, dedicating it to Stéphane Peru, the series' colorist who died last year, and reminding the audience to donate to the Hero Initiative, which helps with healthcare costs for comic creators in need) and the success of Dark Horse's Hellboy franchise, which took five awards throughout the evening.

The award winners in full:
Best Continuing Series
All Star Superman by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely, published by DC Comics
Best New Series
The Invincible Iron Man by Matt Fraction and Salvador Larocca, published by Marvel Comics
Best Limited Series
Hellboy: The Crooked Man by Mike Mignola and Richard Corben, published by Dark Horse Comics
Best Publication for KidsTiny Titans by Art Baltazar and Franco, published by DC Comics
Best Publication for Teens/Tweens
Coraline by P. Craig Russell, adapted from the novel by Neil Gaiman, published by HarperCollins Children's Books
Best Webcomic
Finder by Carla Speed McNeil
Best Humor Publication
Herbie Archives by Richard E. Hughes and Ogden Whitney, published by Dark Horse Comics
Best Reality-Based Work
What It Is by Lynda Barry, published by Drawn & Quarterly
Best Graphic Album - New
Swallow Me Whole by Nate Powell, published by Top Shelf Comix
Best Graphic Album - Reprint
Hellboy Library Edition Vols. 1 & 2 by Mike Mignola, published by Dark Horse Comics
Best Archival Collection/Project - Strips
Little Nemo In Slumberland: Many More Splendid Sundays by Winsor McCay, published by Sunday Press Books
Best Archival Collection/Project - Comic Books
Creepy Archives by various, published by Dark Horse Comics
Best US Edition of International Material
The Last Muskateer by Jason, published by Fantagraphics
Best US Edition of International Material, Japan
Dororo by Osamu Tezuka, published by Vertical
Best Anthology
Comic Book Tattoo: Narrative Art Inspired By The Lyrics And Music of Tori Amos edited by Rantz Hoseley, published by Image Comics
Best Short Story
"Murder He Wrote," by Ian Boothby, Nina Matsumoto and Andrew Pepoy, from The Simpsons' Treehouse Of Terror #14, published by Bongo Comics
Best Writer
Bill Willingham for Fables and House of Mystery, published by Vertigo/DC Comics
Best Writer/Artist
Chris Ware for Acme Novelty Library, published by Acme
Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team
Guy Davis for BPRD, published by Dark Horse Comics
Best Painter/Multimedia Artist
Jill Thompson for Magic Trixie and Magic Trixie Sleeps Over, published by Harper Collins Children's Books
Best Cover Artist
James Jean for Fables, published by DC Comics, and The Umbrella Academy, published by Dark Horse Comics
Best Coloring
Dave Stewart for Abe Sapien: The Drowning, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane and The Umbrella Academy, published by Dark Horse, and for Body Bags, published by Image Comics and Captain America: White, published by Marvel Comics
Best Lettering
Chris Ware for Acme Novelty Library #19, published by Acme
The Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award
Eleanor Davis for Stinky, published by Toon Books
The Bill Finger Excellence In Comics Writing Award
John Broome and Frank Jacobs
The Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award
Denis Kitchen
Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism
Comic Book Resources, produced by Jonah Weiland
Best Comics-Related Book
Kirby: King of Comics by Mark Evanier, published by Abrams
Best Production Design
Hellboy Library Editions, designed by Cary Grazzini and Mike Mignola
Hall Of Fame
Harold Gray, Graham Ingels (Judge's Choices), Matt Baker, Reed Crandall, Russ Heath and Jerry Iger
The Will Eisner Spirit of Retailing Award
Tate's Comics + Toys, Lauderhill, FL



Invincible Iron Man deserves it! Fraction and Larocca have done a great job