Vote 2020 graphic
Everything you need to know about and expect during
the most important election of our lifetimes

At Last, You Can Get All of Leigh Brackett's Stark Stories in One Volume

Illustration for article titled At Last, You Can Get All of Leigh Bracketts Stark Stories in One Volume

Leigh Brackett was known as the Queen of Space Opera long before she co-wrote The Empire Strikes Back. And now, you can find out why. Haffner Press has collected all of the novels and stories she wrote about space adventurer Eric John Stark into one amazing volume.


Featuring cover art from Raymond Swanland (see roughs of the various cover ideas above, via Haffner Press), The Book of Stark collects three Stark novels, and four short stories. Here’s the table of contents:

  • “Queen of the Martian Catacombs”
  • “Enchantress of Venus”
  • “Black Amazon of Mars”
  • “Stark and the Star Kings”
  • The Ginger Star
  • The Hounds of Skaith
  • The Reavers of Skaith

Plus there’s a slipcased deluxe edition, with different cover art, that includes a bonus book. And the bonus book has the two books that Brackett wrote when she expanded and adapted two Stark short stories into novel form. The slipcover edition also includes Brackett’s never-before-published working notes for a fourth Stark novel. Here’s what’s in that bonus book:

  • The Secret of Sinharat
  • The People of the Talisman
  • The Ginger Star (magazine version)

The slipcased edition sounds like a pretty amazing collection, with every single scrap of Stark all in one place. Get it from Haffner Press. [via SF Signal]


Charlie Jane Anders is the author of All The Birds in the Sky, which is available now. Here’s what people have been saying about it. Follow her on Twitter, and email her.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter



All of those titles are familiar to me but damned if I can remember what any of them were about. Guess I'll just have to pick up the set and read them all over again.