Steven Gettis' website Hey Oscar Wilde! It's Clobberin' Time!!! collects artists' portraits of great writers from a variety of genres, creating diverse images of authors from William Gibson and Arthur C. Clarke to Neil Gaiman and Alan Moore.

In addition to these author portraits, Hey Oscar Wilde! includes renderings of science fiction characters, including Barbarella, Paul Atreides, Robert Neville, and Big Brother.

[Hey Oscar Wilde! It's Clobberin' Time!!! via Neatorama]

Isaac Asimov by Jason Armstrong

Mike Mignola by Scott Mills

Cormac McCarthy by Jamie Tolagson

William Gibson by Pia Guerra

Arthur C. Clark by Jeff Lemire

Douglas Adams by Tom Fowler

Michael Moorcock and J.R.R.Tolkien by Walt Simonson

Rod Serling by Scott Campbell

Neil Gaiman by Leigh Gallagher

HP Lovecraft by Bruce Timm

Samuel R. Delany by Mark Badger

Margaret Atwood by Andi Watson

Ray Bradbury by Val Mayerik

JK Rowling by Terry Moore

Kurt Vonnegut by D'Israeli

Aldous Huxley by Brian Ashmore

Alan Moore by Frazer Irving

HP Lovecraft by Saverio Tenuta

Edward Gorey by Troy Nixey

HG Wells by Charlie Adlard

Neal Stephenson by Matthew Clark

Jules Verne by Ted McKeever

Robert A. Heinlein by John K. Snyder III

Anne Rice by Craig Hamilton