2012 Clarke Award finalists celebrate the diversity of science fiction

The Clarke Awards are always an interesting award to watch, because they're selected by a panel of judges who read widely in the field — and thus, some surprises can creep in. This year's six finalists include one book I've never heard of, and also run the gamut of every type of science fiction. Here's the list:

  • Hull Zero Three, Greg Bear (Gollancz)
  • The End Specialist, Drew Magary (Harper Voyager)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • The Testament of Jessie Lamb, Jane Rogers (Sandstone Press)
  • Rule 34, Charles Stross (Orbit)
  • The Waters Rising, Sheri S. Tepper (Gollancz)

And yes, The End Specialist is the British title for The Postmortal, by Deadspin contributor Drew Magary. The winning book will be announced May 2 in London. [Locus]


Share This Story

Get our newsletter


Rule 34 is sitting in my to-read pile right now. Guess I should move it to the top.