For this latest attempt, SpaceX says the odds of successfully landing the rockets on the barge are between 75 to 85%. We've got the live stream right here for you, starting at 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT.

Image: SpaceX

*UPDATE: Today's launch has been cancelled on account of anvil cloud tops within a 10 km radius of the launch site. The launch has been rescheduled to tomorrow, Tuesday April 14 at 4:10 PM ET/1:10 PM PT. Coverage will resume at 3:00 PM ET/12:00 PM PT.


Broadcast live streaming video on Ustream

For this latest mission, an un-occupied SpaceX rocket will be taking off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. Its destination is the International Space Station, where it will deposit its cargo (payload details here). Among the various items going up are several zero-g coffee cups to go with the new espresso maker.

The Falcon 9 rocket and its Dragon capsule should take off around 4:33 PM ET/1:33 PM PT. The landing attempt will happen about 8 to 10 minutes after the launch.

(SpaceX)

The first attempt to land the rocket came this past January. Technically speaking this will be the second, and not the third attempt, to land the rockets. The second attempt was called off due to high seas. That said, the rocket successfully conducted its landing sequence and hovered vertically above the ocean before splashing down and breaking apart.

Advertisement

For this run, the rocket is loaded with more hydraulic fluid, which ran out during the first attempt. Although the weather looks good today, the barge has also been upgraded to handle rougher seas, which foiled the original second attempt.

Additional reporting by Mika McKinnon